About BCEF

Since 1990, the Blount County Education Foundation (BCEF) has succeeded by delivering needed educational tools to students and teachers in all county schools. Core to the BCEF is the mini-grant program, typically funding more than 30 mini-grants each school year. BCEF is run by an all-volunteer staff with no paid employees. 100% of all donations go to the Blount County Schools. What that means is that every penny of your donated money goes to help students.

BCEF Purpose:

While a separate entity from the school system, the BCEF works closely with teachers, principals, and central administration to understand and address educational needs within our Blount County School System.

BCEF Support:

While a separate entity from the school system, the BCEF works closely with teachers, principals and central administration to understand and address the most pressing, unmet needs. The BCEF acts as a bridge between school needs and community resources by seeking both financial support and donated services from generous individuals and corporations.

  • Provides mini-grants for educational programs
  • Organizes annual Golf Tournament in the spring
  • Organizes annual Trot for Education in November
  • Coordinates Stuff the Bus (a school supply drive) during TN Tax Holiday weekend.
  • In addition, each BCEF board member is assigned to a specific school(s) to ensure effective communication between the Foundation and every Blount County School.

BCEF Board of Directors

The BCEF, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, operates with volunteer Board of Directors who come from a cross-section of the community and represent a variety of professional disciplines. All are focused on the BCEF mission of enhancing excellence in education for children of the Blount County School system.

Executive Board
President: Betsy Cunningham, Y-12 Federal Credit Union
Vice President/President Elect: Jay Blevins, Realtor
Vice President of Technology: Lesli Byrum, Blount Memorial Hospital
Secretary: Lacee Campbell, Clayton
Treasurer: Amy Edwards, Y-12 Federal Credit Union

Board Members:

Nicole Ownby, Clayton
Kelli Harris, Clayton
Sarah Jo Gregory, Clayton
Brandi Breeden, Edward Jones
John Crabtree, DENSO
Nathan Nehf, Newell Brands
Scott Powell, DENSO

Executive Director
Steve Stout

BCEF Meetings: The BCEF meets the second Tuesday of every other month at a designated Blount County School from 11:30am-1pm.

Rob Britt, Director of Blount County Schools
Mike Crabtree, Assistant Director of Blount County Schools

2019-2020 Blount County Schools:
Carpenters Elementary
Carpenters Middle School
Eagleton Elementary
Eagleton Middle School
Everett Learning Opportunity Center
Fairview Elementary
Friendsville Elementary
Heritage High School
Heritage Middle School
Lanier Elementary
Mary Blount Elementary
Middlesettlements Elementary
Montvale Elementary
Porter Elementary
Prospect Elementary
Rockford Elementary
Townsend Elementary
Union Grove Elementary
Union Grove Middle School
Walland Elementary
William Blount High School
William Blount Freshman Academy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *